2016 Dissertation Award

The Puerto Rican Studies Association is once again pleased to open its biennial Dissertation Award Competition, the winner of which will be publicly announced at our October 27-30, 2016 Conference to be held on the campus of the University of Maryland. Dissertations deposited between June 2, 2014 and June 1, 2016 are eligible for consideration.

Intended to recognize and honor the most notable PhD dissertation produced in Puerto Rican Studies between our biennial conference meetings. This competition is open without regard to particular topic, theme, approach or discipline. Nominations for this award can be made by any PRSA member, individual author, thesis advisor or thesis committee member. The Selection Committee’s commitment is to choose one from among all entries received which, in its scholarly originality and overall excellence, best and most compellingly engages issues and concerns of Puerto Ricans and their communities and altogether represents an exceptionally distinguished contribution to the field of Puerto Rican Studies.

To present a dissertation for consideration, individuals nominating candidates should submit the following via e-mail to each member of the Dissertation Award Committee listed below:

(1) a one page abstract and full copy (PDF) of the final, deposited thesis being submitted for consideration;

(2) advisor’s statement of completion

(3) author’s current C.V.

All nominations must be received no later than June 10, 2016.



Please send nominations  to:

Professor Arlene Davila, Chair  (NYU)


Professor Peter Carlo (UPR Cayey)


Professor Myrna Garcia (Syarcuse U.)