2019-2020 Executive Council

2019-2020 PRSA EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

President (2019-2020)

Salvador Mercado
Associate Professor
Department of Languages & Literatures
University of Denver
salvador.mercado@du.edu

Secretariat (2017-2022)/Vice-President (2019-2020)/President-Elect (2021-2022)

Charles R. Venator-Santiago
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science & El Instituto: Institute for 
Latino/a, Caribbean and Latin American Studies
University of Connecticut, Storrs
charles.venator@uconn.edu

 

 

Treasurer (2019-2020)

Harry Franqui-Rivera
Associate Professor
Department of History
Bloomfield College
harryfranquirivera@gmail.com

Secretary (2019-2020)

 

Joanna Camacho Escobar
Independent Scholar
Academic advisor and part-time professor
Department of History
University of Texas, Rio Grande Valley

jmcamachoescobar@gmail.com

Publication and Communications Officer (2019-2020)

Ivonne M. Garcia
William P. Rice Associate Professor
Department of English & Literature
Kenyon College
garciai@kenyon.edu

Members-at-Large (2017-2020)

Marisol LeBrón
Assistant Professor
Department of Mexican American &
Latina/o Studies
University of Texas, Austin
marisollebron@austin.utexas.edu

Aldo Lauria-Santiago
Professor
Departments of History and Latino & Caribbean Studies
Rutgers University, New Brunswick
alauria@lcs.rutgers.edu

 

 

Andrés Torres
Professor (retired)
University of Massachusetts-Boston
Distinguished Lecturer (retired), Lehman College, City University of New York
ANDRESS.TORRES1@lehman.cuny.edu


Graduate Student Representatives (2019-2020)

Aurora Santiago-Ortiz
Doctoral Candidate
University of Massachusetts, Amherst
asantiagoort@umass.edu

 

Lisa Figueroa-Jahn
The Graduate Center
City University of New York
lisa.f.jahn@gmail.com

Sarah Molinari
The Graduate Center
City University of New York
sarahmolinari89@gmail.com

Ex-Oficio Committee Members

William A. Velez
President (2017-2018)
Professor Emeritus
Department of Sociology
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
velez@uwm.edu

Nelia Olivencia
Secretary (2017-2018)
University of Wisconsin Emerita (WI)
olivencn@gmail.com 

Alessandra Rosa
Publications & Communications
Officer (2018-2019)
Postdoctoral Scholar
University of South Florida
aless12@gmail.com