2019-2020 PRSA Executive Council Call for Nominations

CALL for Nominations Puerto Rican Studies Association, 2019-2020

Dear fellow members of PRSA,

The time when we need to elect a new Executive Council is approaching and we are now seeking nominations. We will hold an election ahead of our Biennial Conference in October and the new Council will begin service by January 1, 2019 and will serve until December 31, 2020. Please, consider standing for election to any of the open positions.

Please consider nominating yourself for a position by August 1, 2018. Elections will be held during the second week of September 2018. We plan to announce the elected officials during the third week of September and would like to begin the process of transitioning from one executive council to another during the biennial conference. All candidates are required to be members of PRSA.

The Executive Council of PRSA holds regular meetings in person or via teleconference to discuss and make decisions on regular business matters that include organizing its conferences and other events, preparing a budget and managing its finances, recruiting potential candidates for future Executive Councils and its regular and ad hoc committees, and providing guidance and a long-term vision for the sustenance and growth of the organization.

The Vice-President/President Elect serves for a period of 4 years; the Secretary, Treasurer, and Publications and Communications Officer serve for a period of 2 years. Student Members-at-Large serve for a period of 2-years.

More detailed information about the Council and functions of the directors can be found in our bylaws (https://prsa.uconn.edu/prsa-by-laws/).

If you are interested in standing for election, please visit our webpage or the following link: 2019-2020 PRSA Executive Council Nomination Form

Please feel free to contact me at: salvador.mercado@du.edu if you have any questions.


Salvador Mercado
Vice-President PRSA
Associate Professor, Chair
Languages and Literatures
University of Denver
2000 E. Asbury Ave.
Denver, CO 80208

Important Deadlines:

All nominations must be completed by 1 August 2018.

Nominees need to complete the PRSA Officers and Executive Council Nomination Form and submitted to  by 1 August 2018.

A formal ballot will be distributed to the membership by 1 September 2018.

Election deadline is 16 September 2018  Newly elected officers will be formally announced during the 2018 PRSA Biennial Conference

For additional information about the Executive Council and the responsibilities for each position, see the link on the Puerto Rican Studies Association website. Article VI of the PRSA By-laws.

Excerpt from PRSA By-laws adopted October 23, 2010


Executive Council

Section 2.  Composition, Election, Term, and Qualifications.

The Executive Council shall consist of eleven (11) directors elected by the membership at large: President, Vice President/President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer, Publications and Communications officer, Past President, and five (5) at large members to the Executive Council, consisting of: (a) three at large representatives, each of whom shall be the direct representative of the overall membership, and (b) two students, each of whom shall be the direct representative of the student members of the Association. The Executive Council may also designate one or more persons to serve as nonvoting ex officio members of the Executive Council. Directors and officers shall be members in good standing of the Association. Directors shall be elected by the membership at its annual meeting.  All directors serve for a term of two years; provided, however, that the three at large representatives shall serve for a term of four (4) years.  All terms shall begin January 1 and end when successors are elected and installed. No director shall serve more than one term in the same office.  The terms of directors may be staggered, so as to not all expire at the same time, to the extent and as determined by the Executive Council.  To this end, the term(s) of one (1) or more directors may be extended (but not abbreviated, as required by the N-PCL) to the extent and as determined by the Executive Council.

Queries regarding nominations and the ballot can be addressed to Professor Salvador Mercado, Vice-President/President Elect at: salvador.mercado@du.edu